MSA Moving Forward!

Dear Colleague,

We are pleased to communicate exciting news that will assuredly take our organization to the next level. As part of our strategic planning efforts, the Museum Store Association Board of Directors continues to look toward the future and has been exploring management options to best support us as we continue to evolve and grow beyond our 63rd year as an organization.

After discussion and reflection, we have chosen SmithBucklin as our new management company, effective at the end of this month.

SmithBucklin is the leader in association management. They provide tailored full-service management and consulting services to more than 320 professional societies, trade associations, charitable organizations, corporations, and government institutes. This will provide us with access to professional staff who are familiar and comfortable with our type of industry and field, and who have developed and implemented successful strategies for other not-for-profit organizations such as ours.

The additional resources provided by SmithBucklin will keep our association moving forward and build upon the recent successes of Museum Store Sunday, our rebranded conference, MSA FORWARD, and the publication of both the Membership Directory and the 2018 Retail Industry Report. They will also assist in growing our new initiatives such as MSA NEXT, the Buyer-Vendor Forum, and The Museum Collective at AmericasMart Atlanta.

We are committed to increasing membership, enhancing our products and services, and strengthening our events and education. The MSA leadership strongly believes that this partnership with SmithBucklin is the right answer for us, and will allow us to serve our current and future members at the highest level possible.

Stay tuned for further announcements about the transition, including the official move date to our new home headquartered in Washington, DC. In the meantime, it is business as usual, and you should continue to use the current MSA address, phone (215-320-4667), and email until further notice.

Thank you for your continued support of the Museum Store Association. We value you and look forward to exciting opportunities ahead.

For additional information about the transition, feel free to contact any of us.

— Museum Store Association Board of Directors

Ione Saroyan, President

Susan Tudor, First Vice President

Blue Anderson, Second Vice President

Karen McNeely, Treasurer

Cathy Nagle-Ervin, Secretary

Jamie Cooper, Director At-Large

Patricia Sampson, Director At-Large

Kristen Daniels, Vendor Member Advisor

Ari Lowenstein, Vendor Member Advisor